Bumgarner Sprints to Victory at Papillion

Published On August 19, 2014 | By John Peterson | News, Road

Papillion, NE – In a tight Cat 1/2 race, a flurry of attacks couldn’t stay away as the race came down to a field sprint with Lee Bumgarner (Team Kaos Cycling) taking the win. Skyler Mackey (Th!nk Finance-TREK) started the sprint out of the last corner with Bumgarner on his wheel, but Mackey pulled his foot from the pedal and immediately dropped back clearing the way for. Bumgarner. Kent McNeill (Midwest Cycling) took second followed by 2014 Midwest Flyover Series champion, Jordan Ross.

Matt Tillingshast (Midwest Cycling Community), Patrick Abendroth, and Grant Rotunda (Greenstreet Velo Club) proved to be the standout performers of the Category 3 field, pulling away early to set up a three-way drag race out of the last corner at the finish. Tillinghast edgeed out Adendroth at the line for the win with Rotunda rolling across for third.

Matt O’Donnell (Greenstreet Velo Club) put in a huge effort to catch Bryan Redemske (Lincoln Industries Cycling) and Joe Savoie (Team Kaos/Alegent Creighton Health) for another three man drag race out of the the last corner to challenge fourth place. Redemske held on for fourth followed by Savoie and O’Donnell.

Category 4 race, Dana Stefanidis (Team Kaos/Alegent Creighton Health) attacked early on in the Category 4 race to solo for the win. The chase featured a trio of riders including Jakob Wilson (Greenstreet Velo Club), Blake Reimer ( U of Colo), and Stuart Newman with Wilson crossing in front of Reimer for second followed by Newman in fourth.

Category 5 race, Shane Scholten (Central Plains) powered to an impressive solo break away early to take the win. Brad Spencer pulled clear of Harrison Biehl in the field sprint for second.

Dillion McNeill (Midwest Cycling Community) rode well to edge out Cole Limpach for first in the juniors. McNeill and Limpach also were fourth and fifth overall in the combined race.

In the Women’s race, Emily Skiles (Greenstreet Velo Club/Lerner Company) and Leah Kleager (Midwest Cycling Community) established the early break away and took it all the way to the finish with Skiles able to come around the sprint of Kleager winning by less than a tenth of second. Rachel Plessing (Lincoln Industries Cycling) rolled across solo for third.

The Masters race featured cycloross world champion, Mark Savery (Trek Cyclocross Collective) who beat out Chris Spence (Team Kaos/Alegent Creighton Health) and Greg Shimonek (Midwest Cycling Community), who finished seond and third, respectively.

Complete results for the Papillion Twilight Criterium…

Photo Journal from Papillion Twilight Criterium

Leave a Reply