Smith Wins Arrows to Aerospace

Published On August 19, 2014 | By John Peterson | News, Road

Arrows to Aerospace Twilight Criterium

Bellevue, NE — Racing in wet, humid conditions, the Cat 1/2 battle came down to three teams, Th!nk Finance TREK, Liincoln Industries Cycling and the Midwest Cycling. With the break established by Shadd Smith (Th!nk), Mark Savery (Midwest Cycling) and John Frey (Lincoln Industries) on lap 5, the field was left to race for fourth. Out of the final turn on the 8 corner, .7 mile course, Smith moved clear for the win followed by Frey and Savery.

In the Category 3 & 4 race, the break featured Luke Sykora (Lincoln Industries Cycling), Grant Rotunda (Greenstreet Velo), Sykora’s teammate, Caleb Uerling and Patrick Adendroth (Bike Masters). Uerling and Adendroth dropped off leaving Sykora and Rotunda going the distance with Sykora taking the win. Isaac McFee (DMOS) bettered the field in the sprint for third.

Category 5 and Women, Emily Skiles (Greenstreet Velo Club/Lerner Company) and Collin Krehbiel (Greenstreet Velo Club) rolled away in the early break only to be caught by the field with a second breakaway effort including Shane Scholten (Central Plains), Cory  Cunard, Dillion McNeill (Midwest Cycling Community), and Paul Gebers. Cory Cunard stayed away out of the final turn with an impressive kick to the line followed by Collin Krehbiel and Paul Gebers in with third. Emily Skiles finished first in the womens race followed by Amy Collison second and Kathryn Mattes third.

Masters, Eric Obergrell won the Masters race with Chris Black second and Steven Robinson third.

Complete results for the Arrows to Aerospace Twilight Criterium…


Photo Journal – Arrows to Aerospace Criterium in Bellevue.

Leave a Reply